Located in the old vestiges if a former monastery of the 17th century, this passionating museum features various sections: archaeology, art, ethnography, regional furniture, traditions and legends. There’s nothing better than this place to fully understand the beautiful Gaume!
Symbol of the Gaume Museum, the “jacquemart”* is the witness of the Friars Minors** monks’ presence there from the end of the 17th century to the end of the 18th century. Settled just in front of the tour that was inaugurated in 1968, the jacquemart (163cm, 75kg) has been drawn by Alfred Van Den Brandt and built in golden copper sheet by Camille Brasseur, both from Mons.
*automaton that embodies a wooden or metal character that indicates time by hitting a bell with a hammer
** The Order of Friars Minor (also called the Franciscans, the Franciscan Order, or the Seraphic Order; postnominal abbreviation OFM) is a mendicant Catholic religious order, founded in 1209 by Francis of Assisi.
Housed amid the ruins of the late seventeenth-century Récollects’ convent, with a stunning contemporary-style new wing, this museum reveals the cultural identity of this region between the Rivers Chiers and Semois by illustrating the many facets of the area’s human, naturel, industrial and artistic resources through archaeological and historical artefacts, folklore and legends. This “mini Louvre of the Gaume” also contains lovely examples of the fine arts, popular art and the industrial decorative arts, indeed enough to satisfy the most avid culture vulture!