Before 1910, when the water supply network was put into service, village water supply was ensured by means of fountains-wash houses, drinking troughs, wells and « bornes-fontaines » (a combination of a drinking fountain and a hydrant). The use of these public facilities was thoroughly regulated, e.g. washing vegetables or hides in a sink was strictly prohibited. Also prohibited was the filling of barrels for the garden or watering cattle at home. There was no exception for the wash house of Latour-Bas.
Inside this small shed-roofed building, leaning against the foot of the hill, a small wall was built to prevent cattle from entering. Built in 1800 or 1809, this wash house has four grey limestone sinks. The sinks for rinsing are placed one after the other, while those for washing are side by side. This layout is quite unique in the Walloon region.